How do slip joints, P trap, gaskets work correctly?

Users who are viewing this thread

metamatt

Reaction score
I'm adding a sink for a wet bar which basically consists of installing a kitchen sink with 1 1/2" drain. I had a plumber rough in supply lines and a (horizontal) drain line a couple feet away from the sink location. I figured I'd do the rest of the plumbing (hooking up faucet and drain line) myself. The faucet was pretty easy, but I'm having trouble with the drain (I had a lot of trouble understanding how things connect and what decisions to make, forged ahead anyway, and the result is a leak from the P trap).

Please keep in mind I'm a complete beginner; this is my first plumbing project. So if I'm doing something totally wrong or missing something totally obvious, please correct me!

I have a basket strainer at the bottom of the sink made for 1 1/2" plumbing, and a few feet away, the 2" drain line on which the plumber left a fernco coupling to a reducer that is threaded for a 1 1/2" slip joint coupling. So I have to get from A (the strainer) to B (the slip joint coupling into the rough-in drain line), so a few feet of straight pipe and a P trap.

All the advice I can find in various Internet articles and forums recommends the use of plastic pipe for this, but (a) in San Francisco where I live, code requires metal pipe, (b) all the other sinks in my house (professionally installed) use metal drain lines, and (c) I'd already bought the pieces. So I decided to go ahead with the metal (chrome plated brass) pieces, but I'm having trouble finding examples/explanations for how to do this. And of course the various plumbing components I bought don't come with any instructions because you're supposed to already know how to use them!