Hey Guys! Newbie here with a well ?

Users who are viewing this thread

JasonJ

Reaction score
Hello, I hope I have found the right place to get some expert advice. I have a well on my property that is 46 foot deep. The static water level is 25 foot. I am on city water, but want to use the well to water my yard. I have looked at 1Hp 115V submersibles on the web and my question is do I need a pressure tank. All I want to do is run a hose from the well pump to a single sprinkler to move around my yard for watering here in HOT Georgia. The pump I am looking at says it will deliver around 30 gpms at a head of 30'. Is this enough pressure to run an oscillating sprinkler? Is it too much pressure? I understand I will have to step down in pipe size. The pump has 1 1/4 coming out of it so I would have to step down to a water hose up top. Basically, I am wondering if I need a pressure tank. This will not be plugged in all the time, only when I want to water the yard. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Jason

Reach4

Reaction score
The pump I am looking at says it will deliver around 30 gpms at a head of 30'. Is this enough pressure to run an oscillating sprinkler?
That spec is odd, even if it is gpm rather than gps. Thirty ft barely gets the water out of the ground.

I would think you would want something like a 1/2 HP 10 gpm pump.

Last edited:

JasonJ

Reaction score
That spec is odd, even if it is gpm rather than gps. Thirty ft barely gets the water out of the ground.

I would think you would want something like a 1/2 HP 10 gpm pump.
WellPump.jpg
WellPump.jpg

I was going off this? Maybe I am not understanding it right? This is all new to me and I appreciate any help.

Reach4

Reaction score
60 psi is about 140 ft of head. If you are to be bringing water from about 30 ft down, you would want to be at about 170 ft on the graph. That means that pump would deliver about 14 gpm.