Help with PVC threaded to Brass without leaks.

Users who are viewing this thread

Charlie Bosco

Reaction score
Ok so some of you are following my plumbing issues and now I need to redo the layout this weekend.. I am no professional but I did work as an apprentice plumber for 2 years as a teen. I did everything from sweating copper, gluing PVC and even threading and installing iron gas pipe.. the biggest enemy of a plumber is a frigging leak! Even when you do things right.. there are still gremlins. :(

So I want to make sure I do this right the 1st time.. My nemesis is always going from PVC to metal with threaded PVC adapters..
My reroute involves a few areas where I need to use a 3/4" PVC threaded Male adapters. For my Brass Ball Valve, Brass Spin Down, and Fleck Bypass valve. I hate installing these and always keep my fingers crossed.. I never do that with Primer and Glue..

I am ready for bear this time. I have my 3/4" Blue Monster tape and Thread paste. I really want to be specific here..

I read this from from Lasco site. I know if I followed these rules verbatim I would have a leak every time.. also WTF is finger tight? Also 1 or 2 turns, if the 2nd turn wont hurt then why not 2?
  • Don't over-tighten joints by giving them "one more turn to be sure. "Do finger tighten plus one or two turns - No More.
  • Don't wrap Teflon tape or Teflon paste or pipe dope to add bulk to or to lubricate the joint. Do use a sealant for threaded joints.
  • Don't use "stronger" Schedule 80 threaded fittings on the assumption that they may solve the problem of splitting through over-tightening.
  • Do use only Schedule 40 threaded fittings with Schedule 40 pipe and fittings.
  • Don't over-tighten.
  • Do finger tighten plus one or two turns.
Blue Monster also says 3 wraps.. But sometimes 4.. well which is it? is 4 better? also should I use a light coat of paste over the tape?

What procedure could I feel comfortable that a professional would use?

Breplum