Help sizing a gas modulating condensing boiler

Users who are viewing this thread

Robert McCallum

Reaction score
I need help sizing my new boiler. I am a licensed electrician that has wired many boilers of all types for many plumbers and every one of them think I need around 100k btu but my math tell me otherwise. My house is 1500sq ft on Long Island that was completely gutted and remodeled r15 wall and 3/4” tuff r on the outside with a unfinished basement that will eventually be finished. I have 3 zones of cast iron recessed sunrad’s hooked up to radiant manifolds running at 150f max water temp and a 40gal weil-mclain aqua 45 indirect. The current boiler is way over sized a peerless 3 or 4 section oil that is under fired with a 1 GPH nozzle.

1st floor radiators

207sqft x .8 = 165.6sq ft x 110BTU =18,216 btu

2nd floor

261sqft x .8 = 208.8sq ft x 110btu = 22,968btu

(the .8 is for recessed)

Basement (temp)

1 old cast iron maybe 20sqft that turns on when ant zone calls for heat

20 x 110 = 2,200btu

Total 43,384btu @ 150f of radiators and once the base meant is finished the total will be around 50,000btu @ 150f for the house

With 150f water and these radiators I hade no problem with heat and I think the boiler did not run half the time on the coldest day and the temperature over shoots the set point by 2 degrees every heating cycle. I also used a program called HVAC-Cal manual J and came up with 30k to 40k heat loss depending on how generous I was when putting in the house info.