Heating Zone

Users who are viewing this thread

garnetlake

Reaction score
Greetings, is there anyone experienced enough to let me know if they have ever drained down a heating zone to replace a baseboard unit and then restarted it? I understand that I have to shutoff power, close return line and then drain the zone through a hose. I am not sure about the cold water valve that feeds the heater though. Will this automatically replenish what I remove? Do I have to shut this also? I guess the other question is what is involved once the unit is replaced. Does the zone automatically recharge with water once the valaves are reopened? Any help guys greatly asppreciated!

Jwray

Reaction score
No expert, but...

I'm no expert, but have some limited experience with my hot water radiator system.

I wouldn't open up the system without turning off the make-up water valve. If the sytem pressure drops it's going to try to replenish the water.

When you hook everything back up you will need to bleed the air out of the portion you drained. I would try to get as much of the air out before you startup the system. You should be able to do this by opening the bleeder valve on the baseboard usint and opening the make-up water valve (you should then leave this open).