Heat Tape

Users who are viewing this thread

asayers

Reaction score
I have a shower set up that is going to be mounted on an outside wall. I have no options to put it anywhere else. Can I heat tape the lines within the walls?

asayers

Reaction score
I don't have any room to build a false wall, nor are there any options move the plumbing. I could re-direct part of a forced air heat duct into the wall. I would have to limit the amount of insulation in the wall in order for it to do any good though and that scares me.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
Heat tape in an enclosed wall would be a NO NO. Why can't it be mounted on another wall?

asayers

Reaction score
It is a very very small bathroom with no other wall as a possibility.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
I'm not a pro...but if I was hit with this problem, I'd make sure that the pipes were as close to the inside wall as possible, and then I'd consider using a foam in place insulation - it doesn't leave voids and has a much better R factor than fiberglass. This could be problematic if you needed to repair the valve and it might mask a leak. This may mean that your choices of a shower valve may be limited, since many of them are fairly deep. I know that Grohe makes a surface mount tub/shower valve assembly, don't know if they or others make a surface mounted shower only assembly. If you go this route, then all of the guts are outside of the wall, only the pipe is inside (and you should be able to get it closer to the inside wall. You may not like the looks of this. I did it on my shower because there is a pocket door behind it, and I didn't want any interference possibilities, plus, the granite I put up I wanted to stay for a long time nonwithstanding the valve.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
What is above the bathroom, 2nd floor or attic, and when you are standing in the shower can you touch the shower ceiling?

asayers

Reaction score