H202 Injection Do I Need a Catalytic Carbon Filter?

Users who are viewing this thread

TimTheToolMan

Reaction score
I would like to add a H2O2 injection system to eliminate the H2S and Iron bacteria from my water. My question is do I need a catalytic carbon filter after the H2O2 injection if I would like some residual (say 15ppm) to come out my water lines to help kill everything? Can't I just adjust the amount of H2O2 injected and measure the residual at my water outlets? I would filter such as a spin down filter with an automatic flush to get rid of the precipitated iron.

Also, I have all copper plumbing. Is H2O2 injection going to be a issue? If I have a contact tank and PEX or similar from my injection point to the contact tank and then ensure that the H2O2 level is 15 ppm post contact tank is there no concern about H2O2 in contact with copper?

I apologize for all the questions but
1) I'm an engineer and like to have a plan
2) I only like doing things once and being done with it. So I want to make sure I have everything right

I have read everything I can find out injection systems but seems to me that unless you need a higher initial concentration for the chemical process to take place and have a method for filtering out the precipitates that a Catalytic Carbon Filter is unnecessary.

In case it's helpful here are my water test results:

Pre-Water Softener

Calcium 120 mg/L
Chloride 38 mg/L
Fluoride 0.36 mg/L
Hardness as CoCO3 436 mg/L
Iron 2.7 mg/L
Magnesium 33 mg/L
Nitrate as N none
Nitrite as N none
Sodium 7.9 mg/L
Sulfate 68.0 mg/L

Post Water Softener

Calcium none mg/L
Chloride 36 mg/L
Fluoride 0.39 mg/L
Hardness as CoCO3 none mg/L
Iron none mg/L
Magnesium none mg/L
Nitrate as N none
Nitrite as N none
Sodium 210 mg/L
Sulfate 63.0 mg/L

I prefer not to use chlorine because I don't want it going into my septic and causing me issues on that end.

Reach4

Reaction score