Grumpy inspector. Am I wrong here?

Users who are viewing this thread

Joseph Roy

In the Trades
Reaction score
I am a licensed plumber here in MA .
This Morning I called for a rough gas inspection the inspector tells me 9-10am.
In this town you have to stand your inspections. 10.10 rolls around so I call
the town to see if he is coming????
I have just been forgotten in the past.
The guy from the town says you are really
Calling because he’s 10 mins late???
I said yes I was He calls me back and
Says he is on his way.
The 85 year old inspector pulls up a says
You called because I’m 10 mins late who
the hell are you?lol
So he is here to look at a rough gas test the
Test is on and the pipe is roughed behind each appliance! Before he does anything he turns to me and says do you have a appliance hooked up? I said no why would I?
Why would I disconnect the customers stove
Two days before Christmas so I can get a tag
Telling the gas company that we need a meter??
It is the middle of winter who know when they can get a meter here???
Bottom line is he was mad about me calling
town and had a personal Vendetta !
As he is getting back in his truck I told him he was wrong he says i may be wrong but
you are not getting this tag. Lol

Sylvan

Still learning
Reaction score
When we do a integrity test on gas piping we do leave the appliance connected and the supply valves closed

Years ago all appliances had to be disconnected and the valves had a plug installed .

MA is slightly behind the times and once an inspector in MA has an issue with a contractor good luck getting anything passed

NYC did allow for self inspections ( no longer on gas) and if the inspectors did not show up we passed

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score
No offense, but I'm shocked that you even thought about disrespecting an inspector. You don't have to like them but they have the power.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com