Ground on water pipes question

Users who are viewing this thread

GoldDiamond

Reaction score
Hello! (This is my first time installing a water softener, i know little about plumbing and electrical, but learning as i go. Please excuse me if these are dumb questions)

I am installing a new water softener in place of one that was already in the same spot.

So there is the 1"? water pipes that come out of the wall .. and then there is a 2 ft copper tube that hooked up to the wall pipes and ran to the bypass valve on the water softener, that is where the ground clamps are (on the 2ft pipe NOT the main water lines coming from the wall). (see pic below)

The new 2 ft. pipes that i got are corrugated stainless steel, should i put the ground clamps on the stainless steel, or do they need to be connected to copper? (the steel is corrugated (groovy) and there is a small 1" flat spot on the top and bottom of connectors.) If they need to be on copper then i was thinking of hooking them right where the pipe comes out of the wall (only about 2 in of pipe there), is that a okay spot?! (see pic below, you can see where i took a razor blade and made it bare copper)

Another question i had is , is it bad if the ground wire that goes in between the clamps or the clamps themselves happen to get wet, say if the water softener leaks or something? can that cause problems like shock or ruining electrical in the house or am i just overthinking things?!

Also anything i need to know when moving the ground clamps to another spot ( like i need to do something so i don't get shocked etc) or just unscrew them and put them in the new spot and im good to go?

If im missing anything, like how to do something properly then please let me know!

Thanks for your help!!

3 pictures to better understand what im describing:
https://imgur.com/a/47h3Mvc
https://imgur.com/a/CP50G3x
https://imgur.com/a/iGnpusR

Reach4

Reaction score