Gravel Question for Well Liner

Users who are viewing this thread

John B H

Reaction score
I need to put a 4" liner in an old 7" casing. I was told to put pea gravel between them up to about 5 ft from the top and finish with bentonite. My question is can I use crushed stone or does it have to be a rounded pea gravel. If crushed stone (clean limestone) is ok, what size shoud I use.

Reach4

Reaction score
What size slots will your liner use?

Pea gravel would be much courser than what I suspect you would want to use.

Your liner will normally be below the pitless adapter.

What was your motivation for getting the liner? Sand, fine sediment, well collapsing?

I am not a pro, but I think your answers could be useful by the pros to answer your question.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
You need gravel with uniformity. It needs to be sized large enough not to go through the screen or perf. But it needs to be small enough to make a media filter out of and catch the sand. Pea gravel will not stop the sand.

shane21

Reaction score
While I am not familiar with the well construction rules in anywhere near every state, I am familiar with a a few of them and requirements for well liners I am familiar with generally indicate using enough bentonite, or some other approved grouting material, to make sure you are preventing non potable water from entering your well - and more specifically the surrounding ground water table.