Getting water to outbuilding

Users who are viewing this thread

Tom Behrend

Reaction score
Hello, Newbie here! I need to run a water line about 125' from my house to my shop. I'm considering pex or poly pipe and am wondering what the best way to tee into my existing home water system. I have a well with a submersible pump which feeds a pressure tank in the house. Is it possible to tee into the outside line which runs from the well to the pressure tank, or do I need to run a line out after the pressure tank from inside the house? Just trying to figure out my best options. Thanks.

Tom

Tom Behrend

Reaction score
Thanks valveman. If i understand you correctly, the check valve will need to be on the pump/well side of the tee? Not on the pressure tank side right? I will need to have another pressure tank in the outbuilding correct?

Tom Behrend

Reaction score
The check valve on the pump is the only one you need. And no you don't need another pressure tank. Water comes from the pump, not the tank(s).

Okay, sorry for my ignorance here.

If I have the well/submersible pump outside the house I can then tee into the line before it enters the house (after the check valve)? If my pressure tank inside the house is regulating the house pressure what would regulate the pressure to the outbuilding (I would ultimately like to have bathroom, an extra laundry sink and a few hose bibs in the building)? What signals the pump that there is demand for water to the outbuilding?

Again, sorry for my lack of understanding!

Thanks,

Tom

Reach4

Reaction score
When the outbuilding uses water, and the pump is off, the water will come from the pressure tank in the house. As that pressure drops, the pump switch at the pressure tank will turn on the pump. Expect there to be more pressure variation in the outbuilding.

I am thinking valveman might have been picturing a cycle stop valve at the tee in the path from the pump to reduce the pressure variations. :)

Tom Behrend

Reaction score