Gas line pressure drop

Users who are viewing this thread

Troutfish

Reaction score
I'm a general contractor having an issue with a furnace in a newly built house. I have two furnaces in this 3500 sf two story home with one in the attic and the other in the basement. The furnace in the basement does not work yet the 2nd floor furnace does. I called the HVAC contractor out and he's replaced the valve inside the furnace 3 times with no luck. He's telling me the pressure in the line after his valve drops from 6.5 to 0.2 inches of water and he needs 4.0 to ignite the flame. He's gotten the same reading with all 3 valves inside the furnace. I've had the gas service company out to check the pressure at the meter and everything checks out fine. All the other gas appliances in the house work fine.

Everyone is pointing to the gas piping as the culprit. This furnace is about 15 ft from the gas meter and is the first appliance receiving gas. My plumber ran 1 1/2" service into the house and branched off that line with 1/2" hard pipe to service this furnace. So, there's about 7 ft of 1 1/2" reduced down to 8ft of 1/2" pipe running to this furnace.

Our question is this, does this sizing lead to inadequate pressure to the furnace? It seems oversized based on past experience but the other appliances further down the line all work fine. The plumber says it's not his issue so I'm at a loss here with cold weather bearing down on us.

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro.

Can't the pressure be measured just before the furnace, such as at the drip leg? That would seem to be a good demarcation for determining whether the problem is the piping or the furnace.

While lighting the pilot light, there is very little gas trying to be used. With the burners firing, the amount of gas being used will depend on the furnace.

http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/natural-gas-pipe-sizing-d_826.html "120" in the table would be 120 BTU/hour for 1/2 inch of pressure drop.

Dj2

In the Trades