galvanized V. poly for submersible

Users who are viewing this thread

aleon

Reaction score
I am removing with difficulty a submersible pump that is 21 years old and has failed. It is in a 300' deep well with 6" casing. The drop pipe is 21 year old (or more) galvanized 1-1/4" 20'joints. I have yet to pull it all. I am a diy farmer type. I don't know how much drop pipe there is. If I ever get it out I'm considering replacing with poly. Is this a good idea. Is there any advantage to using galvanized. Any disadvantage to poly?

R

Rancher

Depends on where the pump is located, I'm thinking 300' on poly is probably it's outer limit, 200' is doable. And your galvanized is 21' lenghts.

Rancher

aleon

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I will find out how deep the former pump was soon. Is poly easier to pull by hand (or winch) if repairs are needed?

Raucina

Reaction score
I just set 300' of poly in a well. Use 200 PSI and the longest brass or SS hose barbs around. Do a search and several come up - you want three plus clamps on the pipe that was dipped in hot water for a minute before the insertion. Use ONE piece of pipe, no joints. You can pull it by hand.

R

Rancher

Thanks for the reply. I will find out how deep the former pump was soon. Is poly easier to pull by hand (or winch) if repairs are needed?
Yes, I use a winch for 100' but have pulled it before by hand.

Rancher

Sammyhydro11

In the Trades
Reaction score
I have pumps set on 500' of poly with no problems.I pulled one out of a well 2 weeks ago that was set at 600' on 1" 160 poly. I have never heard of the hot water thing and it sounds primitive. Just get yourself a torch and heat the inside of the pipe to a point where you can just barely squeeze the pipe and then insert the fitting.

Sammy

R

Rancher