Framing question

Users who are viewing this thread

Bassman

DIY Member
Reaction score
I just gutted my kitchen and want to know why some of the blocking between the studs is installed at an angle and not straight across? Like this |/|\| only not such a large angle, maybe 25-30 degrees or so. Is it easier to nail that way, or is it stronger? Thanks,
Neil

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
blocking

They cut all the blocks the same size, and oversize, then angled them however they fit. It was a lazy way to do it and would have caused a "real" framing carpenter to have a heart attack. Or as I asked a plumber one time, (who also happened to be the city plumbing inspector for a neighboring city), "Who installed that water heater?" And when he said, "I did.", I told him to redo it and do it right. At the time I was a third year apprentice.

Bassman

DIY Member
Reaction score
leejosepho said:
If that blocking is at a fairly consistent height along the wall, that angling might have been done to widen the area where cabinetry could be attached.

It's about the height you'd expect a firebreak to be.

Bassman

DIY Member
Reaction score
hj said:
They cut all the blocks the same size, and oversize, then angled them however they fit. It was a lazy way to do it and would have caused a "real" framing carpenter to have a heart attack. redo it and do it right.
Ah, that make perfect sense! No measuring and they will always fit SOMEWHERE.
Thanks

Old Dog

G.C. 22+ years(in 3 states)
Reaction score
Bassman said:
Ah, that make perfect sense! No measuring and they will always fit SOMEWHERE.
Thanks

Are the blocks straight cut or angle cut on the ends?Straight cut=lazy/ hack framer...

Bassman

DIY Member
Reaction score
Old Dog said:
Are the blocks straight cut or angle cut on the ends?Straight cut=lazy/ hack framer...