fluorescent light bulb's don't work with Timer's?

Users who are viewing this thread

Bjferri

DoD Army
Reaction score
Why is it when I put a fluorescent bulb in a light that is on a timer it starts to blink, even though the timer os off? I have lots of timers around my house instead of the regular switches...does this mean I cannot use this type of bulb?

Mikey

Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek
Reaction score
I don't see any reason why this should happen, if everything is properly wired. A switch is a switch. Are these timers mechanical or solid-state?

Bjferri

DoD Army
Reaction score
The timers are solid state. I don't understand this. Not that I'm an electrician, I don't think I wired them incorrectly.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Lighting control devices....timers, photocells, and motion sensors.....can be problematic with fluorescent. Especially electronic devices like your timer.

Here is the reason......

Simple electronic in-line devices like maybe your timer are designed to replace a simple on/off switch in a box where only the HOT wire is present, not a ground or neutral. Therefore, they way they work is to "steal" a tiny amount of current. That is when the timer or photocell wants the lights to be OFF it is still passing just a few milliamps of current to operate its circuits, and be ready to switch when the time arrives. For incandescent bulbs, this current just passes through the bulb, and is so small that it does not even cause a little glow. But, flourescent bulbs DO NOT LIKE this set-up. It will cause the flickering etc. that you are seeing.

The only solution is to get a timer which is specifically rated for fluorescent. They are much more expensive, and often require a neutral and/ or a ground to be present in the switch box, and you may or may not have that.