Floor preparation of bathroom

Users who are viewing this thread

merryremodeling

Reaction score
We are in the process of remodeling our bath. It has been gutted. It is an old house and the floors have sloped and are uneven. There is plank flooring in the bathroom and bad spots have been replaced with plywood.

We have received conflicting information on how to prepare the floor for a covering. We have put felt paper down and were intending on pouring a floor leveler over it and then putting down luan and taping the seams and finally putting down the vinyl sheeting. It is the type that goes down with tape along the border.

After reading a bit on forums I've seen recommendations to put the lever down last and the flooring on top of it. Aside from the fact that the luan would be more exposed to possible water damage it if goes down last, does the order matter? Another concern is using this type of flooring with the tape. I've never tried it before. Will it stick to a leveler? I think it's Henry's leveler we picked up at Lowe's.

Any guidance with this would be greatly appreciated.
Laurie

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Check with Lowes or the manufacturer about installation of the vinyl. Floor leveling compound should not need to have luan put down on top. How do you get the luan to lay flat? Prep of the seams and edges would be critical, since the tiniest bump, crack, etc in the substrate telegraphs through sheet vinyl.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Driving nails or staples through the leveler might just delaminate it. Plus, how is the stuff supposed to stick to the floor if you have felt paper down first? FIrst thing to do is to screw any loose boards down to the joists...nothing more annoying than a squeaky floor. It is likely that where plywood has been substituted for planks, the tops won't be level.

How much height buildup can you stand? Do you want it to be flat, or flat and level?