Fleck 5600 not happy during settling rinse

Users who are viewing this thread

Reach4

Reaction score
That video nicely shows the big 2.2 Hz oscillation on your Economizer softener. I don't know the cure, but you sure showed the not-subtle symptom.

Kooper59

Reaction score
I downloaded a service manual for the valve yesterday and decided to give taking it apart a shot. I fix diagnostic imaging equipment for a living so I figured this wouldn't be too far out of my depth.

I removed the brine valve and main piston / seals/ spacers and checked that everything looked sound. I put it back together and tested the check valve in the brine tank. I then ran a regen and everything seems to be working properly now.

The problem started recently when I had the resin replaced. I expect the service man put new valve parts in when he was here and something didn't seat quite right. When I called him back the day after he did the service he said he thought it was because the brine tank didn't have enough water in it. From my research yesterday I discovered that the brine valve is closed during the settling rinse. Even if it wasn't the check valve would keep air from being drawn into the system.

At any rate I think I'm going to start servicing the unit myself if I can find a place to buy the resin. It's fairly straightforward and simple and it will save me quite a bit of money.

Thanks for your responses.

Reach4

Reaction score
At any rate I think I'm going to start servicing the unit myself if I can find a place to buy the resin. It's fairly straightforward and simple and it will save me quite a bit of money.
Resin should last maybe 10 years or so with chlorinated water, depending on chlorine or chloramine levels, and much longer with unchlorinated well water.

For chlorinated water, it is important to use 10% crosslinked resin.