Finishing my basement!

Users who are viewing this thread

Greg Ewanchuk

Reaction score
Hi folks, this is my first time posting but I've used the site before for a bathroom gut and refinish and let me tell you, you guys are very appreciated! THANK YOU!! It went so smooth having this resource.

That being said I'm in a new house now and I got pretty lucky on this one. The builder roughed in the basement bathroom and even vented it separately (I thought I was going to have to tie into the bathroom on the main floor- very relieved I don't have to). So, I had to relocate the shower drain to accommodate my larger shower plans which began my plumbing permit journey.
I'm in the process of drawing up my plans and wanted to double check with the experts what the best bet would be. Here's my current situation:
basement rough in.png

To begin with, I'm curious how this all ties together under the slab (just for my own OCD reasons). I assume the vent and shower tie into the 4" toilet drain with separate 4 x 4 x 2 Y fittings? (or a combo Y?) After that the toilet must tie directly into the main drain with a 4 x 4 x 4 Y fitting. Make sense?

Here are some more of my assumptions that I'd really appreciate confirmation on.
-If I turn that 2 x 2 x 1-1/2 sanitary tee towards the far wall and run my vanity/sink in the corner I think I'd be too far away from the vent and would need to run a vertical 1-1/2 pipe up from the sink and tie in to the vent above the overflow line of the sink. It would be about a 5 or 6 foot run. Are fernco fittings the typical way to tie in the new fittings on existing pipe?