Filling new pressure tank

Users who are viewing this thread

fitz75

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Nubee here. A little background. I am not a pro plumber but have done dozens of DIY plumbing projects over the years. My current project is replacing a waterlogged pressure tank. Thing is, I'm kind of confused on how water manages to get into the tank, as it is a closed system. Unless I don't understand something, it seems kind of like putting your lips on a bottle and trying to blow air into it. Just so I don't run into a problem, can someone explain to me how this works. I understand there is a bladder. I just don't understand how water can enter a closed system. Thanks for any insight..

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
More like an air compressor airing up a tire. Still a closed system. The pump just needs to make more pressure than is in the tank and the water will fill the tank.

fitz75

Reaction score
Hi valveman. Ok,gottcha. *slaps forehead** :D Ya know, the older I get, my the less my critical thinking skills work. Now that I think about it.. it's a no brainer. Hahahahaha. Alright, well now I feel confident in completing this project. The only thing that bothers me is ...it's 29 degrees outside and the tank is down in a concrete bunker in the ground, covered in 8 inches of snow. .. and we've been out of water for 4 days. Time to get-r-done. Thanks a million.

fitz75

Reaction score
Oh, one other thing. I've read up on those Cycle Stop Valves, but there seems to be something about them that some people say causes a problem for pump warranties. Can you elaborate? I was thinking about installing one, but they appear to be very expensive. Are they worth it?

fitz75

Reaction score