Escutcheon/Waste Line leak under Kitchen Sink

Users who are viewing this thread

slickweatherman

Reaction score
I have a fairly significant leak coming from the point under my kitchen sink where the water, having passed through the trap, enters the wall. There is an escutcheon there and I believe this is where the water enters the main waste line. To give an idea of scope, when the sink is being run the water drips at something in the range of 2-4 drips/second. Not enough to flood my kitchen, but enough to saturate everything that was stored under my sink. What is the scope of the problem here? Do I need to get inside the wall? Will the sink base need to be removed? I am a novice, but not ignorant entirely to terminology etc... Any help is appreciated.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
You have not told us anything about WHERE the leak is occurring, so there is no way to give an answer. The escutcheon is a "cover plate" so it has to be removed so you can see the source of the leak.

Hairyhosebib

Reaction score
Start by removing the drain from the P Trap to the wall. If you disturb the tail piece you may end up with a leak there too. OR, You may just want to remove the entire drain including the sink strainer basket. Once you start wrenching on the old drain i would bet that the strainer will come loose and then the mess begins! If you can get the ring off that holds it tight you will have won a big battle. DO NOT USE PLUMBERS PUTTY!!! That stuff is a JOKE! It should have gone when a good silicone was developed! The silicone you want to use to seal the old cleaned up strainer or the new one you will need to buy to replace the one you will destroy removing it is a small tube of CLEAR GE SILICONE II. Don't buy white, it takes too long to cure.