email alerts for you sump pump?

Users who are viewing this thread

Bulldog Plumbing

Reaction score
I have a customer looking for an email alert system for her sump pump. I know that the pro series deluxe controller has the remote terminal to tie into an alarm system. Do any of you know of any other option that you have used and had positive results with? thanks.
Doug

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
There are inexpensive video cameras that have relay contact inputs that can trigger a recorded sequence to be emailed. Finding a device that can send out emails is probably easier than finding an ISP that will accept emails from said device. With all the spamming going on, most ISPs have tight controls on their email servers.

I work in IT and have lots of devices that email me but as we have our own internal email infrastructure, we don't need to interface the devices to an ISP's email server.

Bulldog Plumbing

Reaction score
i have high hopes that the pro series s3033 can be tied into the alarms system that the lady has already installed in her home. I'll let you know how it works out

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
pump

IT sounds an alarm when the float has been activated for 10 minutes, so even if it could send a message, which it apparently cannot, it still means you would either be under water or about to be, which doesn't help if you are on the other side of town. I would rather have a backup pump that informs me that it has STARTED, so I know the main pump has a problem but the backup is handling it temporarily.

Last edited:

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
The actual lead time before it's too late would vary but I agree that an alert on a backup pump kicking in may be preferential. My sump pit has only a high-water alarm and under wet conditions, it gives me 4 hours advance notice before the pit overflows.