Elkay e-granite composite sink - cleaning

Users who are viewing this thread

txlandlord

Reaction score
Website
www.brotherscustomworks.com
I am a custom home builder, and our client selected an Elkay 3322 Harmony Kitchen Sink – Mocha composite (aka granite) sink.

The home is on a private well, with water softener, and reverse osmosis filter at the Kitchen location of the subject sink.

We are constantly getting water spots large and small - appearing at white haze on the Mocha (chocolate brown).

Elkay Website - Cleaning Instructions:

e-granite™ • Most dirt and stains: Wipe with a damp cotton cloth/sponge and soapy water. Towel dry with a cotton cloth. It is recommended that you clean your sink prior to first use. • Stubborn stains and water marks: Wipe with a Mr. Clean® Magic Eraser® and either water or a 50/50 white vinegar and water solution. Towel dry with a cotton cloth. • Difficult stains: Use a 3M Scotch-Brite™ Heavy Duty Scour Pad with either water, 50/50 white vinegar/water solution or non-abrasive cleaner. Start cleaning in a a circular motion with constant pressure over the area of the stain, rinse thoroughly with water and dry with a cotton cloth. Let dry 5-10 minutes. If stain persists, repeat.

Following these instructions helps, but water spots continue to appear. The problem is not uncommon, with some suggest a coating of cooking oil - olive oil are similar after cleaning.

Any experience - help - tips for my client?

Thanks.

John

Reach4

Reaction score
Try generously spraying RO water to wet the counter as a final rinse, and wipe that off with a paper towel.
sprayer-hand-650-ml.jpg

On a different topic, if you pipe RO water to the icemaker/fridge, use plastic pipe -- not copper.

Last edited:

Gary369

Reaction score
We had a new Mocha granite composite sink installed toward the end of November 2015.
After about two weeks we noticed it didn't look as good, starting to look dull and white-ish.