Electric Water Heater into Oil Fired Coil??

Users who are viewing this thread

capercanuck

Reaction score
Hi,
I have a question which might be weird.

I have some rental properties that have heating and domestic hot water supplied from oil hot water furnaces. Domestic hot water is through the coil of the furnace.

One duplex is complaining of a lack of domestic hot water. My furnace guy has recommended either replacing the coil, or going with an indirect hot water heater (water tank heated by the coil).

I'm not sure if it matters, but Kwh here is .$12347.

I'm looking at the cost of the indirect, versus installing a 30 gallon electric hot water tank as a "pre-boost" to the existing coil.

The electric option on the front side is much less expensive.

Is it even possible to do this? I'm an electrical contractor and the material/labour costs will be minimal, but I'm wondering will this work?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Most coils can provide only limited heat gains or relatively small volumes. Now, some commercial units could provide what you need, but you'd have to look at the specs. Also, if the coils haven't been demineralized, they may not be working at their optimum (depending on the system, it might need to be done annually).

A small electric WH would run out of capacity relatively shortly (you only get maybe 80%, so 24-gallons on what you were considering), and then you'd be back to the same situation as it not being there at all until usage stopped, and the electric WH could catch up.

An indirect is more reliable and, if sized properly, should be able to provide ample water as it would have the entire boiler to recover with (assuming you ran it as a priority zone - may not be necessary but would give the most output and fastest recovery). Depending on your gas costs, it typically is a lot less expensive to do an indirect verses a properly sized electric.

capercanuck

Reaction score