Users who are viewing this thread

Rob Fender

Reaction score
I'm installing an Electro Industries EB-S-23 electric boiler. Not being an electrician by trade (Architect / own house builder), I have a concern about my 200 amp service, with two 100 amp sub-panels. The electric boiler I'm installing states it uses 94 amps, with two 60 amp breakers and one 30 amp breaker. These breakers are actually mounted on the unit.

In my initial research, the documentation referred to having two 60 amp breakers and one 30 amp breaker. I thought these were breakers in my service panel or sub-panels. I originally was going to run one of the two 60 amp circuits from the 200 amp main, and the other 60 amp and 30 amp from my 100 amp panel in the garage (where the boiler is to be located). But looking at the installation manual, it refers to a single feed (94 amps), which I'm guessing would be equivalent to a 100 amp breaker, two wire, 240 volt, feed coming into the boiler. In that case, I'm also guessing it can be off my 100 amp sub-panel in the garage, or should it be off the 200 amp main service. Also, it appears that there are some 120V applications associated with the boiler that will require a neutral.

Trying to run wire and need to determine wire size. If I'm running 60 amp circuits, I can get away with #6 and will use #8 for the 30 amp. If I'm running one, 100 amp feed from main service panel, it will be about 102 feet (going under, over, around, up and down, and through). So probably use #1... same as I'm running from 200 amp main panel to the 100 amp sub-panel in garage. Or if I'm coming off the 100 amp sub-panel in garage, probably use the #1 also.

So far, I haven't got a response from the Electro Industries people. Any direction would be appreciated.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score