Dryer Gas Line

Users who are viewing this thread

Aaroninnh

Reaction score
Experts,

I have never liked this since we moved into the house. This is what the contractor gave us for our Dryer gas line. It is a piece of CSST (TracPipe I believe) around 8' long without any clamps or straps hooked into the back of our dryer. This just does not seem to be a proper use of CSST to me and I feel it should have been run as black iron down the wall (working around the DWV) to a stubout where it transitions to an appliance connector from that point.

Is this something I should have redone at some point? It just doesn't seem right to me. It kinks up, rubs against the laundry receptacle box and is generally just a PITA.

Today is clean out the dryer vent day so the dryer is out from the wall...and every time I move the dryer this makes me nervous.

20170310_150835.jpg

20170310_150813.jpg

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not an expert on gas plumbing, but this does look like a hack job to me. I would have run 1/2" black iron pipe down the wall to the floor. Then a 2' stainless steel braided flex line to the dryer. I don't know ta

FullySprinklered

In the Trades
Reaction score
It's not pretty, but I'd be more concerned with that DWV trainwreck down the wall. Is it just the perspective, or is that a spudgun arsenal?

Aaroninnh

Reaction score
First thing after the insulated hot copper pipe use to be the washer standpipe (I assume that is what you are poking fun at). Well, it used to be anyways but it was way too high for the washer. The top of the standpipe was 82" off the ground, and the height of the standpipe from the top of the trap weir was only 10". It splashed a but when the washer dumped water but the biggest problem was that the washers kept blowing pumps due to the pumping height. This was another great thing the contractor left us with and was inspected by the town.