Does My Riser Diagram Meet Code?

Users who are viewing this thread

bens397

Reaction score
Hello,
I have attached a riser diagram, and I was hoping to have a master plumber or inspector review my diagram and see if it meets current code. I live in Virginia. I plan to do the work myself, but I want a safe system.

This is my first attempt at a riser diagram, so I do not know what the symbols of a riser diagram represent. I tried to annotate it to convey my idea. I am referencing the 2012 Virginia Residential Code, and venting is the biggest point of confusion.

Thanks

Attachments

• Plumbing Riser.pdf
    7 KB · Views: 752

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score
Last edited by a moderator:

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score
Last edited:

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
The vents on either side of the upstairs shower are useless, and neither one vents the shower. The downstairs toilet and shower are NOT vented, and the way you show the lavatory, the "P" trap would have to be under the floor. In other words, you have to do almost a complete revision of the drawing.

bens397

Reaction score
Thanks hj and Smooky for your time and advice!
I revised my drawing, and added a few vents, if you would not mind reviewing them.

Questions that I have are:
1) 2nd floor, can I vent the lavatory and water closet on the same 2" vent?
2) 2nd floor, does the 2" vent on top of the 3" vertical stack vent the shower?
3) 1st floor, can the shower tie into the main drain line behind the vertical stack?

Attachments

• Plumbing Riser rev2.pdf
    6.6 KB · Views: 524

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score