Do I need an additional check valve on top of the pump?

Users who are viewing this thread

Nighthawk 84

Do it right the first time
Reaction score
I know this has been covered before, but I've heard it both ways. About a year ago I decided to take on installing our well pump myself. The local pump installer would only offer PVC drop pipe and I prefer poly. I am not a professional and I listen to what those that know what they're doing say and try to make the best decision. I am aware my system is built overkill. I have a Grundfus SQ 1-1/2hp 22GPM,with poly IPS 1-1/4 SIDR7 drop pipe running about 240ft down to the pump and 100 ft above ground teeing off to 1inch that will eventually supply two homes. Right out of the top of the casing I have CSV2W (not sure why I was told to get this one, but it's awesome regardless) then I have a 20gal wellxtrol tank and switch after which is a few large 1-1/4 sediment filters. I originally put a Simmons Check valve on top of the pump and the system has been working fine, though we have barely begun to use it as the homes are not built yet and only campers are on site. I installed no other check valves. Later I read Valveman and others say that this was not needed, still I read others say it is needed, especially since the Grundfus SQ's check valve is plastic. However the pump is built with soft start up and on top of that with the CSV installed, I'm gathering I should be fine with only the built in check valve.
Last week we had a lightning strike that took out the pump, though there was no external signs of damage, I tested and the pump was receiving power. I'm told the SQ is more susceptible to lightning damage because it has more electrical components.