Disturbance Noise Caused by Faulty Water Pipe System (Water Hammer?)

Users who are viewing this thread

KC Oh

Reaction score
Hi Good Day! I am new here and would like to seek expert advice in this forum, for disturbance noises caused by faulty water pipe system.

I am a resident of a public housing area and living in a 5th floor unit, in recent months it has been a loud “knocking” noise intermittently coming from the upper floor and it’s a serious disturbance noise even it happening in the middle of night, my family has been trying to endure but the problem does not seem to go away.

About 3 weeks ago, I had approached an upper floor neighbour for the problem and after a quick discussion, the owner has told me that he is fully aware the noise problem could be caused by the next door neighbour’s faulty water meter, which is the unit directly above my unit and he had advised me to provide a feedback to water department for a remedy action.

I had called water department for enquiries and they did sent a team arrived on-site for assistance. However they team could not carried out further checks for the problem as there were no one at home in upper floor neighbour’s unit and then they had advised me to contact local town council for help, as they explained that the problem root cause could be possible the local area water piping systems structure problem.

I had follow up contacted local town council and their team did a round of checking, interviewed the upper floor neighbour unit owner and claimed that the family members are not aware of such disturbance noises, as these noises are random intermittently occurs, therefore the local town council team needs to further investigate the problem to determine the root cause.

For past few days the knocking noise has been more intensive frequent in the night from around 8.30 pm onward and I started to search google website and I had found some information which describes …..….