Dirty water from Garbage Disposal to Dishwasher

Users who are viewing this thread

Misssunshine

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first time on this forum and I would really appreciate any advice.

The garbage disposal was filled up with water (to wash dishes) and emptied (without being turned on)- and dirty water started to appear at the bottom of the dishwasher. There is no other issue (no blockage or water leaks, the dishwasher works great). Please note that the dishwasher is not being used when the water appears.

So I run water in the garbage disposal (cold and hot water), I turned it on with water and it was fine, zero blockage or issue. As a precaution I used a cleaning foam sachet to clear any debris (no issue). I also put some sink unbocker in the regular sink. No issue (before or after). I ran the dishwasher on the hotest cycle with a cleaner. It works great (before and after) and had no water at the bottom.

There is no air gap. The drain hose (dishwasher-garbage disposal) is "looped" properly.

Two weeks later, the garbage disposal was used (filled up with a lot of water and not turned on) and now there is dirty water at the bottom of the dishwasher though much less than before.

Any suggestion? Is it because the garbage disposal is not turned on when water goes? Too much water at once? Is it really meant to be filled up with water and used a regular sink? Any help would be appreciated.

Reach4

Reaction score
Any suggestion?
You have a clogged drain line I think. Get that cleared. The elbow below the sanitary tee would be a common place for a clog.

I don't know what other problem you might have.

An air gap would have prevented that passage of water, but you would still have the clogged drain. Maybe you could loop your high loop higher.

I am not a plumber.

Misssunshine

Reaction score
kitchen sink.jpg
kitchen sink 2.jpg

Stuff

Reaction score