Delta shower valve leak, Delta RP19804

Users who are viewing this thread

mateojimmy

Reaction score
I have a Delta shower head that continues to leak. The whole shower was installed 3 +- 1yr (new house construction). I pulled the shower head off, left it off for a while, and realized that it continued to drip. I therefore assume the problem lies in the valve (or a gasket). I turned off the water and tried to pull the valve apart, but didn't want to destroy anything so I stopped when it required a bit of force. I've got some pics, but my question is what part do I need to fix the leak? And ultimately, how do I fix it?

P.S. I've never used this site before...Let me know if my link doesn't work for my pictures. I can find another way to post them.

mateojimmy

Reaction score
Here's a couple of the pics (hopefully). This should help explain the type of valve it is.

monitor-delta-01.jpg

monitor-delta-02.jpg

monitor-delta-03.jpg

mateojimmy

Reaction score
Alright 3 of 4...not bad....here's the last one I tried to post.

monitor-delta-04.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
The cartridge needs to be pulled and the seats and springs replaced. This is normal maintenance on a Delta.

delta-1300-1400-cartridge-01.jpg

delta-1300-1400-cartridge-02.jpg

delta-1300-1400-cartridge-03.jpg

Kingsotall

Plunger/TurdPuncher
Reaction score
BTW, the brass bonnet unscrews counter-clockwise in order to get to the "innards." Take the seat and springs with you but there are repair kits just for Delta.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
DElta

I replace the entire cartridge rather than mess with the internal seats and springs. This also renews the pressure balance unit before it can start to malfunction.

delta-cheat-sheet.jpg

mateojimmy

Reaction score