Cut Out For Flange

Users who are viewing this thread

Jdjd

Reaction score
The toilet flange itself is not an issue. I am using a product from Set-Rite that includes a gasket, 2 spacers and a flange extender that will raise the flange to the correct level for the finished tile.

As a newbie, I am concerned about the tile cut for the flange - see the attached picture. The toilet would face north in this picture, with a partial tile and only a little of the flange in the tile behind it.

I borrowed a cheapo wet saw (one of those $50 big box store models) to cut out for the flange (and other tiles), but there is only about 2" on either side of the flange circumference. The distance between the 2 sticks on either side of the flange is 7 3/4".

I'm looking for alternatives on how best to cut out for the flange. I know how to do it on a wet saw, and could use nippers to clean up the cut. But given the small amount of tile on either side of the flange, ~2", I expect the tile could/would easily snap off.

But what about the following idea?

Why not just take out a big rectangular notch - see picture. Yes I lose a little bit of tile on each corner, more on the front corners than the back ones in the picture. But I would think these missing corners would not show when the toilet base is placed over the tile.

Yet in all my searches I've never seen this alternative suggested. There must be a reason.

Is this an acceptable alternative or not, and if not why?

Or are there other less error prone alternatives?

thanks

Attachments

• Layout - Toilet Flange, small.jpg
    Layout - Toilet Flange, small.jpg
    21.2 KB · Views: 917

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
IF the bowl is large enough to cover the corners, (which is often NOT the case), it will work. Otherwise, make a series of tangential cuts to create a "round hole".

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score