Cracked copper HVAC condensate pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

Nwoodard34

Reaction score
Hey guys, noticed a black/soft spot in my basement ceiling last night and poked at it with my finger and it went right through. Turns out the condensate pipe for the HVAC is cracked and had been leaking on it (for how long is anyone's guess since that room doesn't get much foot traffic!)

Anyways, hoping the community is willing to offer your expertise and guidance on best approach to fix it. I am not very good at soldering so would prefer a bit of a simpler solution, even if it costs a bit more in fancier parts.

Thanks all for your continued support of this excellent community
20210801_133220.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
Turns out the condensate pipe for the HVAC is cracked and had been leaking on it
Does that condensate include combustion condensate for a high efficiency furnace? That would be acidic, and that is often run thru a neutralizer.

If the condensate is just for AC, it is not as acidic.

Where does the pipe continue onto? Plastic stands up to acid, and replacing with plastic is what I would be considering. I am not a pro.

Bannerman

Reaction score
Without a photo showing the surrounding area, we can't determine if the pipe is sufficiently supported. It is unusual for copper pipe to crack, but if the unsupported length is excessive and if there is vibration, that maybe a contributing factor.

You said the pipe is located above the basement ceiling. As a furnace is typically located in the basement and because a central air conditioner evaporator will be normally located within the furnace plenum, then for condensate to drain through a pipe above the ceiling, would require a condensate pump to be utilized. Condensate pumps typically utilize plastic piping for discharge, not ridged copper pipe. You may want to verify that cracked line is infact utilized for condensate discharge.