County water with low pressure at the meter location

Users who are viewing this thread

Mark Alan

Reaction score
The county set my 1 inch meter part ways up my driveway. I have around 22 psi coming out of the meter. I have a 1 inch PEX line at the meter to the house, and have power available for the pump. I need to go another 50 to 55 feet in rise from the meter to the house. I am not sure what pump and setup I should use. Also will the PK1A work for this? Maybe with a 10 gallon tank, low pressure cut off switch, and the CSV1A set at 80.

Thanks

Last edited:

ThirdGenPump

In the Trades
Reaction score
First go back and talk the the county about inadequate service. They should be able to provide 35psi where fire service is required and rural non-fire 25psi from my brief reading of your states code. I'm no expert in AL water requirements though, there could be exceptions or I'm misreading. If they aren't meeting code they may be willing to put money on the table towards correcting the problem at your location, rather than upgrading their infrastructure.

If you can put a small vault at where the meter is you could use a jet pump there, HP of the jet pump will be based on the houses demand or your desired output, if higher. A CSV with a small 4-5 gallon tank would work fine, the the one he sells with the kit, you don't gain much with a CSV and a slightly bigger tank, pumps got to be running with most activities at that volume regardless. You'd want a standard pressure switch not a low pressure cut out unless you expect the city may randomly stop supplying service. I doubt you want to be wandering down your driveway for a nuisance trip. 80psi at the pump would give you about 55 at the house. If you want more you can get there but you'll need to spec out a specific pump set up to do it, where as any generic can make 80 if it's starting with 22psi.

You could put the pump in the house but it'll be rather inefficient trying to pull through 1" PEX.

Mark Alan