Copper Closet Flange Problem

Users who are viewing this thread

flamda

Reaction score
Hello!
Newbie here.
We got a leak, I found part of subfloor was rotten, so I took it off. I found out we have 2 layers. Thankfully the other layer was dry.

photo2.jpg

photo1.jpg

I want to put the new subfloor but I don't know how I should proceed.
Should I just cut the plywood in 2/4 pieces and slide them underneath the flange or should I get rid of the Flange? And how? I never saw one like that, I can't figure where it's sealed to the pipe.
Closer views

photo2.jpgphoto3.jpg

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by a moderator:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I suspect your leak was caused by the wax ring failing to maintain a seal. When properly installed, the flange is supposed to rest on top of the finished floor. Yours it would appear was recessed. While this is not uncommon, it can cause a problem. Pros may offer other opinions, but my suggestion is to remove the flange, repair the sub floor, replace the finished floor which appears to be tile, and then have a new flange installed. The old flange appears to be in good condition, but it should be resting on top of the tile.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
A flange should be secured to the floor with screws. If it's loose, the wax seal can leak.
I would at least secure the flange, and get new closet bolts.
Where your flange is, it's a two wax seal install.

flamda

Reaction score
Gary: Thanks for your answer. Actually the flange was just above the tile but I cut the 1st subfloor layer, that's why there is a gap now. I would get rid of the flange but I can't seem to see where exactly it's sealed and how to do it. When I touch under it I feel like it's going under the ground, so I think it was sealed at the outside of the pipe. But then when I put my hand in, there is a contact point inside, like 5 inches down.