Computer Issue - Suggested It Is Electrical

Users who are viewing this thread

finvarra

Reaction score
I'm an electrical novice, so please bear with me. Here's my sad story:

I was using a self-built machine. Suddenly random USB disconnect sounds (the old windows DUH-DUH downward disconnect sound) started occurring (sometimes 3x in a row, other times not for several hours) - I disabled all system sounds and it still continued, even though I didn't notice any USB hardware blips). Two months ago, I bought the new Intel NUC7i7BNH, installed Windows 10, and within a few hours the issue suddenly started all over again.

I have replaced or swapped out all my hardware, disabled all Windows power-saving settings, tested 3 different computers, been on several computer help forums, pretty much eliminated every computer-related fix Google (and several computer advisers) could suggest - and the same "disconnect" sound (or whatever it is) continues. It's definitely coming through the speakers b/c I can lower the volume. I get no hardware hiccops. Usually, the sound is the 2 tone Downward disconnect sound, but sometimes it just seems like 1 tone. The randomness is what is really frustrating. For instance it was silent all yesterday morning, then 3 times in a half-hour, then nothing until this morning - just once - and then suddenly 2 times in less than 10 minutes. There is just no pattern - no articular rise in electrical usage.

I'm thinking it must be some sort of electrical issue b/c I've connect the computer(s) in another part of the house... and never hear the noise. Unfortunately, the way my office is set up, everything is on the same circuit.

Right now, I'm using both a battery backup and a surge protector (both purchased since this issue arose). If there is some sort of electrical interference, shouldn't they shield it... or is there something else I can try (short of hiring an electrician to lay new lines)?