Commercial Kitchen Coffee Brewer Supply Line - Massachusetts

Users who are viewing this thread

Kitchen Guy

Reaction score
I'm a chef installing a commercial coffee brewer in a commercial kitchen in a very old building. There is an existing 3/4" valve for a long gone washing machine on the ceiling directly below where the coffee station is going. Would it be legal in Massachusetts (which has the strictest plumbing laws I've ever encountered in 20+ years of running kitchens nationwide) to run a braided supply line up through the floor to the coffee machine fittings?

Would it be better to reduce from the 3/4" valve immediately and run copper tubing?

Or, should I violate plumbing code (because I am not a licensed plumber) and replace the valve with a modern ball valve and run 1/2" copper up to coffee station, which is probably the right way to do it?
Coffee water hookup - 1.jpg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I would add a tee there and extend a line to the floor where the coffee brewer is, adding a shutoff that is accessible for that.
Nobody likes a shutoff that isn't findable when needed.

Kitchen Guy

Reaction score
Add a Tee after the valve, or remove the old valve and add one?

You are 100% correct about having a shutoff near the brewer rather than in the basement. Retrofitting this old building that has had dozens of other modifications over the past 100 years to meet kitchen health and safety codes has been an education in and of itself.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Remove the valve, add the tee and then you can still have the washer shutoff there.
Once you have that off though, it's a few dollars to replace that too. Okay, what constitutes "a few" ? Not much.