• any

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • filter

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Users who are viewing this thread

Paul R Gesche

Reaction score
My well has gone for long periods without the need, until the last month or so, to clean my spin down filter located in my crawl space under the house. I am not sure if my well is filling up with sand or if this is normal. I have had the well since 2004. I am not experienced in wells. Here are the specs though: Well depth: 180 ft., Type: Mud Rotary, Casing 4" PVC to 160 ft depth, Screen: .012 PVC, Static water level: 120 ft, Artificial Filter 150 -180 ft, Well grouted? yes - Neat cement. Perhaps I need a larger filter. Just worried that something may be happening to my well. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
Paul

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
You may have a hole in the pipe at the pump, the pump could be cycling too much, or you may have a well screen problem. Any of those things could stir up more sediment. Bigger filter is just a Bandaid. You need to figure out the real problem.

I would try pumping the well hard for a few hours.

Reach4

Reaction score
If your spindown filter does not feed one of your outside spigots, use that spigot for working the pump hard.

What does the filter collect, sand?

Maybe add a Twist II Clean filter earlier in an easier-to-access spot. http://www.twistiiclean.com/ Does it freeze there?

PumpMd

Kevin
Reaction score
Open up a faucet and go to where your pressure tank & pressure switch is located to see if your pressure switch is turning on/off rapidly.

Paul R Gesche

Reaction score