Cistern Setup - Please Help

Users who are viewing this thread

rianno

Reaction score
I am building a new home and have 2 cistern tanks (about 5000 gals each) built into my garage floor. I plan on filling one with trucked water and collecting rain water for the other. Here is the requirement:

- Use trucked water for all my interior water requirements
- I plan on UV and RO filtering this tank for interior use
- I would like a constant pressure for interior req's (no loss in pressure if laundry is running and 2 showers are on)
- Use rain water for exterior watering and toilets
- I do not have plans for a sprinker system at this point but may have in the future

Can someone recommend what to install (submersibles, CSV, bladder tanks, etc.) to make this work. I am quite new to this since I am on city water currently. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

R

Rancher

rianno said:
I plan on UV and RO filtering this tank for interior use
If you RO the water you don't need to UV it too (correct me if I'm wrong guys), at least that's what at least one RO company says. And if you RO the water then you will need another storage tank to hold that water because you will not get the demand you need with the typical 100 Gal/Day RO unit.

Last edited by a moderator:

Speedbump

Reaction score
I would think a 1/2hp 10 gallon per minute pump would be plenty for a normal household. Unless you have one of these new crazy water wasting showers.

bob...

R

Rancher

I only said 3/4 HP because you've said in the past that's the smallest anyone should use... personnally I use a 1/3 HP, but then you know how I hate to waste electricity.

Rancher

Speedbump

Reaction score
I always recommend a 1/2hp because it's more than enough pump for a normal household (one without one of those crazy showers) and you can't buy a 1/3 hp pump anymore. They aren't listed in the Betta Flo or Red Jacket book or the Franklin manual either.

bob...

rianno

Reaction score