Cistern Design Help

Users who are viewing this thread

lbiasotto

Builder Developer
Reaction score
Hello, I have arrived at this forum for some advice. I am a general contractor and not an expert on plumbing or pumps. I am hoping that the experts on this forum will troubleshoot my proposed design which is primarily based on my own research.

Here goes:
This system will be built in Puerto Rico, on the coast, where salt corrosion is high and reliable servicemen are scarce. My ultimate goal is to have a reliable system with good if not constant water pressure.

The system will support a 3 unit, 2 story apartment house. 2 units have one bath, the 3rd unit has 3 baths, all have kitchens. I intend to have a separate cistern for irrigation so I can capture rain water.

There is municipal water available, but the water pressure is inadequate. Water will not push to the second floor at all. Most homes in the area have a plastic 800 gallon cistern with a jet pump. it seems that these systems have a limited life given the salt air. And due to issues with installation most are hard to reprime if stopped.

Since I will be 1500 miles away, I want a very reliable system. So my thought was to use a submersible well pump. I also dont want to be out of water given that the municipal system goes down regularly. Thus the large capacity of the cistern (4000 gal)

My proposed system:

We intend to install an 8'x8'x8' underground cistern fed by the municipal water. The construction will be reinforced concrete sealed with food grade epoxy. I will put a pit in the bottom of the cistern about the size of a drywall bucket. Again, sealed concrete. I will then set a 4" well pipe into the bottom of the pit, set directly into concrete. We will drill numerous holes into the bottom of the pipe for water intake. We will then drop a 4" well pump into the pipe. The cistern will be covered with dirt with only the well pipe sticking out of the ground.