Cimarron bowl flow is uneven

Users who are viewing this thread

kcongdon

Reaction score
I have recently installed two brand new Kohler Cimarron 2-piece elongated (model 3499) toilets in my new Master Bath and 1/2 bath. I am not a pro, but have installed and fixed my share of toilets in 15 years of home-ownership.

Both toilets have excellent water flow through the front of the bowl, but the back of the bowl does not get rinsed completely. I was very careful during installation that the bowls are level left-right and front-back. It seems, however that they need to be tilted back.

Both are now grouted to the floor, so I don't want to re-seat them, but I will if I have to. Does anyone have any suggestions before I do that?

While at the plumbing supply the other day, someone suggested cleaning any possible debris from the bowl inlet holes. Perhaps some packing material or manufacturing residue is clogging the holes. Does this sound reasonable? What's a good way to clean them?

Thanks in advance.

kcongdon

Reaction score
um, thanks, i think. Wish I had seen the reviews before purchasing them...:mad:

So, I'm not one to give up so easy. But, do you think I should pursue some recourse with Kohler or try to work on the installation to get it to work right?

How can any company sell a crapper that's doesn't even clean out the crap???:confused: I'd think that any new toilet would at LEAST have water wash over all the surface area of the bowl. Duh!

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Well its actually kind of the nature of the beast!

The law mandating 1.6 GPF brought out some of the worst flushing toilets ever designed.