Changing toilet -- ran into problem. Floor mount, Rear outlet

Users who are viewing this thread

Tilly

Reaction score
Hello.

I read this forum through Google search and decided to join. I recently purchased a colonial house from 1811 and decided to change the upstairs toilet since it was from 1979. The toilet itself flushed terribly so I went with a Toto which was recommend by you all. I was excited to install the toto today and my mouth dropped when I ripped out the old toilet. The flange seems to be mounted on the wall, very close to the floor. I cannot use the toto for this so will be putting that toilet downstairs.

Can someone please advise as to what are my current options? I broke the old toilet apart so that is no longer functional.

Thank you for your help. I am not a professional and literally get by reading forums and watching YouTube videos.

First two pics are from inside the bathroom. Last pic is from the other side of the wall where there is a sink/powder room. As you can see the toilet pipe is horizontal with a slope down to the sewer pipe.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
What you need, is a floor-mounted, rear-outlet toilet. IF you search on those terms, you'll find some suggestions here on the forum.

On a totally different issue, while I know you didn't do it, setting tile directly on planks like you have is just waiting for them to debond and potentially crack...planks just move too much as the temperature and humidity levels change...plywood is required on top of planks for any reliable install long-term.

The alternative would be to move the drain line into the floor at (ideally) 12" from the finished wall, then you could use your new Toto (or almost any other toilet).

Tilly

Reaction score
What you need, is a floor-mounted, rear-outlet toilet. IF you search on those terms, you'll find some suggestions here on the forum.