Ceiling leakage toilet on top

Users who are viewing this thread

Vinvar

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to home ownership. Bought my place 1 months back. We have a few guests at home. They mistakenly poured a whole big bucket of water on the toilet floor on the second level. Now I see a small leakage on the toilet in the first floor which is directly below the second floor. Pls advice on what I should do. I also do have A home warranty. Should I call them and get this checked up. What I also worry about is if I call the warranty people then would this problem come on some record like it does on carfax for a car. Worried about resale value and also want to do the right thing and get this fixed.

I am sorry. I am new to this forum and home ownership. This might be a stupid question. Pls bear with me.

Reach4

Reaction score
Wipe up and suck up whatever water you can. That would have been done immediately we hope. A wet-dry vacuum cleaner would be a nice addition to deal with future spills, including onto carpet.

Turn down your humidifier if you have one.

I would point a fan at the downstairs ceiling and upstairs floor. Yes, too little, too late. But it won't hurt.

I would keep buckets away from your guests, and maybe limit the future serving of alcohol. Sigh.

I can't imagine that a home warranty would help in this case.

Vinvar

Reaction score
If water is spilled on the floor then is it normal if water leaks onto the ceiling? Or does something need to get fixed?

Reaction score
I've never heard of "Carfax" for houses.

Fact, when a home is being resold, inclusions mentioned by the realtor such as new roof, new windows, new basement main, updated breakers, etc. all INCREASE the value of the home. No amount of work done on a home ever hurts it, if anything, all MAKES it better.

One thing that hurts the resale value of a home is when a buyer's inspector finds PROBLEMS you didn't address or tried to cover up.