Cast iron to ABS plumbing stack conversion

Users who are viewing this thread

Jona77

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Been doing lots of reading but this is my first time posting.. I have a basement I'm doing some renos on and I find the current cast iron plumbing stack to be convoluted and imposing. I am hoping to move it closer to the wall and replace it with ABS. I've attached some pictures of the current setup and also a paint diagram I made of a potential new system. If anyone wants to look it over and give me any tips or let me know if i'm way off or if it could work as is or with some changes please let me know!

Notes: Although it's not shown in the diagram please assume everything is properly vented. Also there is a 2nd roof vent above the kitchen so I'm not too worried about the sump pump discharge creating suction on the sink P trap.
The bathtub P-trap is the one under the joists with the drain pipe going under the joists. I would like to put it toward the foundation wall and along side the long copper kitchen drain and black plastic sump pump drain.(converted to ABS)
The rest should be intuitive but any questions let me know!

Side questions:
1. If I can find a way to secure the roof vent portion of the current stack above the basement do I have to replace it? Or can I leave it cast iron? Any tips on securing it?
2. Does anyone know what kind of pipe that is flexible black plastic stuff is and if there's ABS adapters for it?
3. The vent pipe is sandwiched between two very close joists as you can see in the pictures and there's a fitting directly at the underside of the joists.. If I can't easily access this from the bathroom above is there another way to tie in the ABS pipe to the vent without overhauling the joist area or replacing the whole vent pipe? Would it be a difficult to desolder that large fitting to give me space to attach a flexible coupling?

Any help appreciated!

My rough plan (I'm not a plumber)

nRphTar.png

o6Q3W9C.jpg
NTcNiZe.jpg