Cast iron shower drain--reuse or replace?

Users who are viewing this thread

ShaunS

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here. My shower pan was leaking so we've embarked on a complete bathroom remodel (tearing out the shower, who not everything?). After pulling up the pan I found this:

GV1TUBf.jpg

xWhbYYt.jpg

I've had two plumbers come take a look. The first one says tear it out back to the T and replace with PVC--$1900. The second says it looks fine, just get a new drain assembly and you're good. I'd like to get a 3rd opinion, but thought I'd ask online too, so here I am. The first plumber looked at it for about 5 seconds before saying it needed to come out, and he seemed a lot sharper than the other guy. The other guy said it's not falling apart and the trap's holding water, so keep using it.

Thoughts?

My gut says rip it out while it's exposed and "do it right".

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I would start a new shower with a new drain. I would not reuse what you have there.
Maybe the p-trap is okay, but if you can change it out, why not?

ShaunS

Reaction score
I would start a new shower with a new drain. I would not reuse what you have there.
Maybe the p-trap is okay, but if you can change it out, why not?
Thanks. Once I'm opening on the slab, why not is right!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Code calls for the waterproofing layer to be sloped to the drain...the tile is not the waterproofing layer, so the location (height) of the existing drain may or may not be correct. THen, you need to determine whether you're going to build a conventional shower with a liner and a clamping drain, or what I prefer, one with a surface applied membrane. The reason is, each one takes a different type of shower drain, and each one needs different elevation.