Carbon backwash system with chlorine question

Users who are viewing this thread

pdc

Reaction score
I have a whole house carbon backwash filtration system. The media uses a chlorine solution to backwash. I'm new to this system and am trying to figure out how it functions. During the backwash cycle the chlorine solution is drawn into the carbon tank. The chlorine tank is 16 gallons and about half of it is drawn in for the backwash. I'm thinking when finished the solution used is expelled to waste and the chlorine tank is replenished with just new water effectively reducing the concentration by half. Is this correct? If so how do you know how much chlorine to add to keep the correct concentration? When refilling, the chlorine tank is regulated by a float valve much like a toilet.

Reach4

Reaction score
What you have is not common. I have a backwashing filter that uses a very special carbon, and it removes H2S and iron. It backwashes every 3 days, and it draws in some of the chlorine solution. It has a 15 gallon solution tank that does not refill on its own. Every 36 days I need to add a gallon of chlorine bleach, and top up with water. (I actually do it every 5 weeks for easier scheduling).

Do you have any documentation? There may be a dealer sticker, and they could tell you what you have. Can you contact the previous owner and ask about the system?

Is this for your own well? If so, do you have a lab water test of your raw water?

If it is city water, does the water department use chloramines to sanitize the water rather than chlorine?

What do you think the purpose is?

pdc

Reaction score
This is my well. Sounds like yours is similar as mine also cycles every 3 days. It uses centaur carbon and is used for removing hydrogen sulfi
20170319_121639.jpg
20170319_121807.jpg
de. I don't have lab results.

Reach4

Reaction score
What makes you think your tank contains Centaur Carbon???