Can't get toilet to drain!!

Users who are viewing this thread

HemiMoparGuy1981

Reaction score
I have a toilet that will not drain. I have a GOOD plunger, I can get everything to eventually work through but still flushes slowly and will not go without lots of plunger work. I tried a specific toilet auger and it just loops back around into the bowl. I used a smaller drain snake for my drill, and same thing. I am an electrician by day at this point and tried my steel and fiberglass fishtapes and NOTHING will make it around the hairpin to unclog. I pulled the stool up to check for a toy lodged at or near the flange and there was nothing. I poured buckets of water while running a hose into the drain to see if it'd slow down at all. I tried my fishtapes and drain snake backwards in the stool while I had it out, still got stuck at the hairpin. I placed the stool in the tub and tried to really overflow the thing...filled tank with hose, filled bowl with shower wand, and poured a bucket into the bowl all at the same time, and while plunging. It worked out a bit of TP into the tub, and seemed to do better, so I reinstalled the stool and right back at square one. I get everything worked through with the plunger and a few flushes...Do I really have to replace the toilet just because no snake can make it's way through the hairpin, where the clog must be??

Reach4

Reaction score
A new toilet would be a good idea if you were keeping a plunger nearby. The new good toilets rarely need a plunger. They have a trapway without hard corners.

Here is a cross section of "this" toilet. This is a real POS but yours is probably not this bad.

toilet-cut-away-01.jpg

You are unlikely to find a toilet that

Here is a cross section of this toilet. It is better, but not really good:

toilet-cutaway-drain-2.png

A smoother path helps everything flow better-- not just snakes.

But if you do plunge, see https://terrylove.com/forums/index.php?threads/how-to-unclog-toilet.67075/#post-563093