Canadian Plumbing question ( indirect drain & new garage sink)

Users who are viewing this thread

Edmonton_david

Reaction score
Hello friends,

1st of all, I have learned many great tips from this forum. I am new to plumbing, however not new to DIY or construction. please refer to sketch below for the existing plumbing. Long story as to why the builder came back to fix deficiency and provide a 1.5" floor drain ( no ptrap) to serve a freezer and the outlet of the 1.5" pipe aim behind our expensive washer which the floor drain live there.

My 1st question is could I splice in a new San Tee 1.5x2x2 -18" below the top of the 2" washer's stand pipe and connect the 1.5" ( purple line) into it.

My 1st thought was, since the washer p-trap is below the new san tee, the sewer gas smell should not be a problem. 2nd- the chance of the freezer loss power and all food thaw which sent lot of water into the 1.5" pipe is less likely. 3rd- my understanding is a 2" dain pipe can served 6 fixture units ( ONLY 5 total fixture units {floor dain = 2, washing machine = 3})

Theoretically I my mind it should work, but I am not sure if it code compliant ( Edmonton, Alberta. Canada). Also went to the city development office for advice without any success (Another story- don't want to discuss).

upload_2017-7-19_16-10-25.png

upload_2017-7-19_16-35-6.png

Attachments

• upload_2017-7-19_16-6-19.png
    upload_2017-7-19_16-6-19.png
    22 KB · Views: 671

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I prefer the second one putting the indirect drain into the washer standpipe.
The sink in the garage looks fine too. Both the washer and the sink are vented in that drawing.

Wrenched

In the Trades
Reaction score
Hello Edmonton_david,

I'm a plumber from BC, so my code, while still based on the NPC 2015, will still be slightly different from yours. Based on the information you've given though, there are a few questions to ask.