Calcite and Sediment filter in one?

Users who are viewing this thread

Rprilutsky

Reaction score
Hi, I am very new to the subject and I need some help here.
I have well water and the only problem I have is somewhat low PH ( about 6.2) and red/brown sediment which clogs my standard whole house filter (5micron) withing 2-3 weeks. The sediment looks like ferric iron but the water test shows no dissolved iron.

Before the filter, I have a calcite backwash neutralizer tank installed (54"x10"). I do not have room to install another tank to have two separate filters (neutralizer and sediment backwash filter).

So, my question is: can I add some additional filtering media to the tank below calcite to improve sediment filtering? Can calcite be combined with any other media on one tank?

I'd apprisiate your thoughts and suggestions! As I said, I am very new to the subject and your help is greatly appreciated.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
In general we don't recommend mixing anything with calcite. I have not run any mixing testes with this media since the calcite varies in size due it being soluble. Clinoptilolite would be the only media I could see being of any help to you but would it stay on top, go to the bottom, or just simply turn into a worthless amalgam? My guess is amalgam.

Reach4

Reaction score
Before the filter, I have a calcite backwash neutralizer tank installed (54"x10").
Backwashing? If so, maybe increasing the backwash frequency could help.

If using an upflow system, maybe converting that to backwashing could improve the particle removal.

In general we don't recommend mixing anything with calcite. I have not run any mixing testes with this media since the calcite varies in size due it being soluble. Clinoptilolite would be the only media I could see being of any help to you but would it stay on top, go to the bottom, or just simply turn into a worthless amalgam? My guess is amalgam.