Buying House... Tell Me About CPVC ??

Users who are viewing this thread

JerseyShore

Reaction score
Hi... I am buying a house in Florida, gated community, major builder, 8 year old house. Overall immaculate condition. Pipes are CPVC. All too familiar with galvanized and have always used copper. Also familiar with PEX, but CPVC is new to me. What should I be concerned about and should I be looking at a re-pipe in the near future? Any advise will be appreciated.. thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro. CPVC in the walls should be good. Outdoor CPVC needs to be protected from sunlight, as with other plastics.

JohnCT

Still learning..slowly
Reaction score
Hi... I am buying a house in Florida, gated community, major builder, 8 year old house. Overall immaculate condition. Pipes are CPVC.CPVC is new to me. What should I be concerned about and should I be looking at a re-pipe in the near future? Any advise will be appreciated.. thanks!

Others may say otherwise, but I wouldn't buy a house even with brand new CPVC in it. The thought of turning a stiff hot water shutoff and having it snap off leaving water gushing inside the walls is one of those things that I'd just rather never have to deal wth.

John

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
I repiped my house. Not only because it was CPVC though. There were other reasons. I don't think I would repipe simply for being CPVC. But it's not my number one or two choice.

Douggieohare

Reaction score
CPVCs are easier to mount, and they are pretty common in Europe. The thing is, they need to be protected from sunlight and other external influences but other than that, they are completely fine.