Brine Pick Up Tube w/ Air Check doesn't reach bottom of Tank

Users who are viewing this thread

Dwtxbox

Reaction score
I have a Fleck 5600 Timeclock Water Softener and was recently cleaning the brine tank when I noticed the the air check was broken into pieces. I ordered a new one, made sure I ordered one long enough so I could cut it to size, but the seller sent me one that is about 4" short, so it doesn't reach the bottom of the tank like the old one did. Does it matter, or will it still work fine? Thanks.
IMG_2563.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
I think it matters. Otherwise you will have brine down there that will never be used and I would think it would interfere with use of salt. I am not a pro.

So if the seller did not send what was described, you deserve what you ordered.

On a different topic, if your softener is working with city water, at some point the resin will need replaced. When that time comes, I would tend toward a new demand softener instead. It will use less salt than a timed softener.

Dwtxbox

Reaction score
I think it matters. Otherwise you will have brine down there that will never be used and I would think it would interfere with use of salt. I am not a pro.

So if the seller did not send what was described, you deserve what you ordered.

On a different topic, if your softener is working with city water, at some point the resin will need replaced. When that time comes, I would tend toward a new demand softener instead. It will use less salt than a timed softener.
Ok, that makes sense. The seller already refunded me, and didn't require I return it, so today I bought a coupler and added a piece from the old one to get it to length.

I actually just replaced the resin. I got about 12 yrs out of the old resin but it recently started causing problems with my water pressure. I'd like to get a new demand head, but they're so expensive, and this one just keeps working :rolleyes:

Reach4

Reaction score
Nice on the splice.